I Fed The Rabbit

I prepared my morning coffee and then hurried to the deck to read. Not just anything. I am franticly trying to finish some books before my last doctoral residency. There I sat . . . cloudy skies . . . a fresh cool and crisp wind . . . and the consoling atmosphere of the morning. And there he was . . . the rabbit. We have this rabbit that refuses to leave our yard. It has become bold and brave and no longer runs away when humanity’s presence threatens its territory. No. It stays. It looks up and then returns to grazing. Unbothered. Unmoved.

Why?

I fed him. Yes. So, one morning I found the rabbit close to our deck, and I rushed to the kitchen to retrieve some carrots. I fed the rabbit. The child in me that had been buried by life and adulthood escaped that morning. I fed the rabbit. Now, this rabbit has become bold and brave and no longer runs away when the presence of humanity threatens its territory. No. It stays. It looks up and then returns to grazing. Unbothered. Unmoved. I fed the rabbit again this morning. We have this strange relationship now.

Rabbits are prey species, the animals that other animals catch and eat. Therefore, rabbits naturally hide from things that scare them. I fed the rabbit. I am no longer a predator to the rabbit but rather a resource.

Why?

Unknowing to me, the Holy Spirit was using the rabbit as a disguise to challenge me about being hospitable. Genesis 19 reads, “The two angels came to Sodom in the evening, and Lot was sitting in the gateway of Sodom. When Lot saw them, he rose to meet them and bowed down with his face to the ground. He said, “Please, my lords, turn aside to your servant’s house and spend the night and wash your feet; then you can rise early and go on your way.” They said, “No, we will spend the night in the square.” But he urged them strongly; so they turned aside to him and entered his house; and he made them a feast, baked unleavened bread, and ate.” Lot offers Hospitality to some unknown and unnamed men. He is not moved to extend Hospitality because he knows they are angels but extends Hospitality. After all, being hospitable is who he is. Lot reminds us to be cautious as to how we treat people. Hebrews 13:2 reads, “Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for by doing that some have entertained angels without knowing it (NRSVUVE).” All I am trying to say to each of us is this, be careful how you treat people.

The spiritual gift of Hospitality is the most needed gift for today. We live in an era characterized by prejudice, racism, sexism, and social injustice. What if we just made being hospitable our mandate for today? If I can feed a rabbit, I can show the same care and concern for others even though we may have opposing political and theological opinions. Henri Nouwen said, “Hospitality is not to change people, but to offer them space where change can take place. It is not to bring men and women over to our side but to offer freedom not disturbed by dividing lines.”

About Breonus

Breonus M. Mitchell is the Senior Pastor of Mount Gilead Missionary Baptist Church in Nashville, TN and the President of Breonus M. Mitchell Ministries, Inc. He is the author of A Fish Called Mercy. He is the dad of BJ and Brennon and married to the former Mrs. Jacquita Haynes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment